Queen's Theatre Les Miserables Show
Opened on 8th October 1907,Queen’s Theatre
has a remarkable presence in the history of entertainment in London. The theatre like some of them built those days was built as pair to the Hicks Theatre that stands as Gielgud in its neighbourhood today. W.G.R. Sprague designed both the building. It was an era of theatres and Sprague went on to design some fifty of them.
Even while naming the theatre, the ongoing trend was followed. Most of them were dedicated to the royalty and so was this one. Queen Alexandria was the then Queen of Britain, following which, the theatre was named the Queen’s Theatre and her portrait was hanged on its foyer. The theatre was badly damaged in 1939 German bombings and was closed following the incident for over two decades.
Les Miserable debuted here in 2004 following transfer from the Palace Theatre where it had enjoyed an eighteen years of glorious run. While running at the Queen’s Theatre, the musical attained many milestones, completed its 25th year here before creating the record of world’s longest running musical. Based on the classic novel written by Victor Hugo, the show is a celebration of France culture of the nineteenth century.